Monday, March 16, 2009

Filthy Dukes - Nonsense In The Dark

1. This Rhythm
2. Elevator
3. What Happens Next
4. You Better Stop
5. Messages
6. Tupac Robot Club Rock
7. Nonsense In The Dark
8. Cul-De-Sac
9. Light Skips Cross Heart
10. Dont Fall Softly
11. Twenty Six Hundred
12. Poison The Ivy
13. Somewhere At Sea

The one fact that Filthy Dukes are making damn sure everyone knows is that Nonsense in the Darkwas recorded on a desk once owned by Kraftwerk producer Conny Plank.

Fortunately there's more to them than that. What the London trio have done, with an array of nobodies and the occasional somebody on vocals, is create an album of metropolitan electro pop which is remorseless, relentless and contagiously exuberant. It's what Daft Punk's third album should have sounded like.

1 comment: