Monday, April 20, 2009

Do Make Say Think - The Whole Story Of Glory EP

1. The Landlord Is Dead
2. Reitschule (Live From Hillside Festival 2007)
3. Frederica
4. The Universe! (Live From CBC Radio 3 Session 2007)
5. March Of Worms
6. THofR Part Three
7. Disco & Haze

Ive always loved Do Make Say Think. Instead of constantly creating dense walls by adding brick after brick (or instruments in non-metaphorical terms), theytend to weave warming tapestries that bend and fold around you. They usesubtleties and move at a speed that is more realistic and natural. Their songsare like a conversation sure they might get heated and emotional, but everyvoice can be heard and appreciated. You can process every single note and youbecome engrossed in the songs, as opposed to being overwhelmed by them.

So whats new with DMST? Well, they just released a tour only, Japanese importEP called The Whole Story Of Glory. Basically, its a bit of an odds and sodscollection of classic, live and unreleased tracks to celebrate their first tripto Japan. The EP is a perfect introduction to Do Make Say Think if you considerthey add some of their best songs - Frederica is probably my favorite DMST trackever. I think its the way the plucked stand up bass line and jazzy drums force
a smile on your face, but the song relies on the horns and distorted fuzz to slowly make the song dark and powerful - but also show how tight they are live.

The version of Universe! they recorded on CBC Radio 3 is ridiculous. Swells ofhorns and guitar are matched with great strings and terrific percussion. Thetrack moves slowly, transitioning with gentle ebbs and flows but never fullyreleasing the reigns. Halfway in the repeating horn flourishes surge ahead, butjust as quickly return the focus to the other elements. The two new songs areshorter, and the second (which may or may not be called Clash Tune or THofR PartThree) takes on an almost whimsical feel. The airy guitar is more folksy thanpost rock and the quick hitting track is a nice light break from the chaos theband uses so often. Sure the back half of the track is full of noise andeffects, but it never deviates from that summery feel.



    thanks to Blast40185