Friday, January 15, 2010

Pantha Du Prince - Black Noise

01. Lay In A Shimmer
02. Abglanz
03. The Splendour
04. Stick To My Side
05. A Nomad's Retreat
06. Satellite Snyper
07. Behind The Stars
08. Bohemian Forest
09. Welt Am Draht
10. Im Bann
11. Es Schneit

All of Hendrik Weber's previous solo releases have been issued by Hamburg's Dial imprint, but this time around his work will be housed on Geoff Travis' Rough Trade imprint, which is more generally associated with indie and rock artists. Fans of his previous output should be glad to know that his melodically rich house and techno sound hasn't changed too much for the hook up, although there are a couple of vocal-led tracks sprinkled throughout the record. Previous Dial single "Beyond The Stars" is one of these, while "Stick To My Side" sees Animal Collective's Noah Lennox (AKA Panda Bear) add his dulcet tones to Weber's orchestral throbs and shuffling beats. Tyler Pope of !!! and LCD Soundsystem also plays bass on "The Splendour."

The entire record is said to be based around field recordings collected in the Swiss Alps alongside Joachim Sch├╝tz (Arnold Dreyblatt Trio) and Stephan Abry (Workshop). The introductions to most of the tracks highlight the samples collected by the trio, before developing into fully fledged Pantha Du Prince workouts, complete with plenty of lush tones and restrained but funky percussion. We spoke to Hendrik by e-mail to ask him a few questions about the

1 comment:


    thanks to stanik