Friday, January 15, 2010

Beach House - Teen Dream

01. Zebra
02. Silver Soul
03. Norway
04. Walk In The Park
05. Used To Be
06. Lover Of Mine
07. Better Times
08. 10 Mile Stereo
09. Real Love
10. Take Care

Beach House's Victoria Legrand and Alex Scully isolated themselves during the creation of Teen Dream, holing themselves up in a converted church in upstate New York with producer Chris Coady. But despite that isolation, the sound of the record (according to the band) is anything but insular. Their first album for Sub Pop, and third overall, expands on the band's warm fuzz, resting their haunting sound on more rhythmic foundations. According to Legrand, "There's a different kind of intimacy, a physicality on Teen Dream." That physicality may ground you a little more in the hazy world of Beach House, but that might be a good thing. If this new world is as large as they claim it to be, it's best to keep your bearings.

1 comment:


    thanks to Blast40185