Sunday, June 21, 2009

The Dandy Warhols - The Dandy Warhols Are Sound

1. Burned
2. Scientist
3. We Used To Be Friends
4. The Last High
5. Wonderful You
6. The Dandy Warhols Love Almost Everyone
7. I Am Over It
8. Heavenly
9. Plan A
10. Rock Bottom
11. I Am Sound
12. Insincere
13. Pete Int'l Spaceport

The Dandy Warhols Are Sound is an album The Dandy Warhols, which is the release of the original Elavado mix of Welcome To The Monkey House album, aptly titled The Dandy Warhols ARE Sound, set for release on July 14, 2009.

Prior to the release of Welcome To The Monkey House, the band had been pressing for a version mixed by Russell Elavedo, a GRAMMY-award winning soul mixing engineer whose credits include D'Angelo’s Brown Sugar, The Roots’ The Roots Come Alive, Common’s Like Water for Chocolate, and Alicia Keys’ Songs in A Minor, among others. But contrary to the band’s wishes, the Elavedo mix of Monkey House was shelved by Capitol Records, and an alternate mix the label had arranged was put out instead.

As Taylor-Taylor describes it, "There are two different approaches to mixing. One is very slick and clean, and Welcome To The Monkey House fits more into that category. ARE Sound, however, has a sneakier profile. It seems very lo-fi and earthy, but the fact is, it’s extremely precise.

1 comment:


    thanks to gda616466