Sunday, June 21, 2009

The Fiery Furnaces - I'm Going Away

1. I'm Going Away
2. Drive To Dallas
3. The End Is Near
4. Charmaine Champagne
5. Cut The Cake
6. Even In The Rain
7. Staring At The Steeple
8. Ray Bouvier
9. Keep Me In The Dark
10. Lost At Sea
11. Cups & Punches
12. Take Me Round Again

All rock music is a sort of dramatic music. And since the times are tough, it makes sense to have that “drama” be something more like a version of Taxi than something like a version of Titanic. We like Taxi better than Titanic anyway. So we hope that some of the songs on this record can be used as theme songs to folk's own personal versions of Taxi. Because—ideally—the dramatic setting of the music isn't provided by the story or image of the given act or band. It's provided by the lives of the people who use—listen to—the music. That is pop music's promise and problem, or danger. So be careful and don't get canceled. The band is very optimistic—despite or because of it all—and will continue its “Democ-Rock” efforts by releasing a fully-fledged Democracy in America limited edition vinyl box-set. It might be called something like Your Cashier Today was ACM CASHIER 96. Matthew and Eleanor are also working on the Fiery Furnaces “Silent Record:” a non-record record, in book form, with notation and instructions. Both will be released by Thrill Jockey records later this year.

1 comment:


    thanks to kv66