Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Duchess Says - Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs

01. Tenen Non Neu
02. Ccut Up
03. La Friche
04. AEAE
05. Rabies (Baby's Got the)
06. A Century Old
07. Melon
08. I've Got the Flu
09. Black Flag
10. CH.O.B.
11. Les Residents
12. Lip Gloss Babyla
13. Prologue (Gilbert)

Montreal's Duchess Says fuses the fury and intensity of punk rock comprised of screaming guitars, moaning bass, and relentless drumming with keyboards and the explosively sexy stylings of vocalist Annie-C. While the band may not be reinventing the wheel with their blend of electronics and post-punk, there is something breathtakingly original about Duchess Says. One listen to Anthologie des 3 Perchoirs will cement that impression. Despite the lack of a full-length release, Duchess Says has become one of the poster bands of Montreal, having performed at most of the major festivals in their native Quebec as well as representing Montreal at the prestigious Montreal showcase at SXSW. During this time they also performed alongside the likes of Depeche Mode, Sonic Youth, Juan Mclean, Dinosaur Jr., and Les Georges Leningrad.
The album treats listeners to a mixture of punked-out electronic music that recalls the likes of Six Finger Satellite, whom they pay respects to with their blazing cover of Rabies, as well contemporaries Glass Candy and The Chromatics. Featured on this LP is the band’s live anthem Black Flag, which has one of the most memorable choruses to come out of the genre and is sure to have even the stiffest of fans shaking like bacon. The record opens with Teneu Non Neu which, giving a great indication of the fever pitch intensity of the band, finds Annie-C producing one explosive auricular orgasm after another with the band in hot pursuit matching her intensity. Other cuts such as A Century Old and I’ve Got the Flu have been crowd favorites for some time are now captured on record.

1 comment:

  1. http://rapidshare.com/files/138441818/DS-Ad3P08.rar.html

    thanks to >:|