Saturday, April 11, 2009

Metric - Fantasies (w/ bonus track)

01. Help I'm Alive
02. Sick Muse
03. Satellite Mind
04. Twilight Galaxy
05. Gold Guns Girls
06. Gimme Sympathy
07. Collect Call
08. Front Row
09. Blindness
10. Stadium Love
11. Waves (B-Side) (Bonus Track)
12. Help I'm Alive (Acoustic) (Bonus Track)
13. Gimme Sympathy (Acoustic) (Bonus Track)

This Canadian-American hipster quartet's first record in four years has an electrophile slickness, not to mention a set of catchy songs. Amid manicured synth-rock grooves, singer and indie-boy crush object Emily Haines delivers big refrains and spiky hooks, cooing about love on "Sick Muse" and going dark on "Help I'm Alive," a throbbing, Garbage-esque single that's bound to be played in any number of dingy indie-rock bars. Haines' lyrics don't always signify: "I'm higher than high, lower than deep," begins the vagued-out chorus to the slow-burning "Twilight Galaxy." But the tune is so fetching that you just don't

1 comment:


    thanks to pop_KoRn`s