Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Youngteam - Daydreamer

1. Intro
2. Daydreamer
3. Your Love
4. Black Lodge
5. My Only Friend
6. Northern Star
7. Not From Here
8. Summertime
9. Strange Days
10. Introducing Mr Gladstone
11. Ashes
12. Goodbye

A Swedish band named after a Mogwai album - I was pretty certain that Youngteam would be some kind of whimsical Northern European post rock. Here's the news - it's actually not, and the band seem to (oddly enough) prefer British shoegaze than our shimmery Ebowed friends from Glasgow. Just flick over to album centerpiece 'Northern Star' and you'll hear the kind of blurred, distortion heavy fretwork we'd have expected from Ride in their glory days. Unlike recent nu-gazers like M83 and Ulrich Schnauss, these Swedes don't seem to care too much for updating their craft or injecting it with electronic flourishes just so you know we're in 2011, these are good fashioned rock songs with all the grit and amp hum you would expect to hear in a pub basement in 1988. And that's a very good thing indeed...www.boomkat.com

1 comment:

  1. hxxp://upxxxloaded.to/file/w0ud17xk

    thanks to n+i