Sunday, August 28, 2011

Gem Club - Breakers

01. Twins
02. Breakers
03. Lands
04. Red Arrow
05. I Heard The Party
06. Black Ships
07. Tanager
08. 252
09. In Wavelengths

“Breakers” is the glorious new lo-fi number courtesy of Somervile duo Gem Club, and has already been featured on Pitchfork earlier in the week. With their debut LP of the same title set to be released later in the year via Hardly Art, and a rapidly expanding following eagerly anticipating it’s arrival; it’s set to be a hectic year for Gem Club. The piano driven “Breakers” is hauntingly heartwrenching, nervously shuffling in somewhere between Youth Lagoon and Perfume Genius, and expertly utilizing the soft yet piercing vocals of Christopher Barnes. Being the first new material since last year’s EP Acid and Everything, this melancholic track has been met with stunning reviews, cementing the two-piece as a real talent to watch out

No comments:

Post a Comment