Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Girls - Father, Son, Holy Ghost

01 Honey Bunny
02 Alex
03 Die
04 Saying I Love You
05 My Ma
06 Vomit
07 Just a Song
08 Magic
09 Forgiveness
10 Love Like a River
11 Jamie Marie

So the magic widget Girls unleashed the other day was not, as hoped, a square of gradually appearing song titles, and this means the world will have to wait (always waiting!) some more for a track called “You Will Love Me, For All The Reasons Everyone Hates Me.” But that widget square did fill in on its own, and it turns out to be full of similarly vivid phrases full of self-loathing and insecurity with a dash of pomp and vanity that they could only be song lyrics of Chris Owens. And it also turns out to be the album cover to Girls’ anticipated third release (following up their debut LP Album and its succeeding EP Broken Dreams Club) titled Father, Son, Holy Ghost. (That’s a reference to the Bible. You’re welcome.)

The record’s due 9/13 via True Panther Sounds and features Owens and bassist Chet White joined by Darren Weiss and guitarist John Anderson. It was recorded in a makeshift studio full of nice amps in San Fransisco, and True Panther calls it “at times ebullient and at times absolutely devastating...www.stereogum.com

1 comment:

  1. This comment has been removed by the author.