Friday, May 22, 2009

Sunset Rubdown – Dragonslayer

1. Silver Moons
2. Idiot Heart
3. Apollo and the Buffalo and Anna Anna Anna Oh!
4. Black Swan
5. Paper Lace
6. You Go On Ahead (Trumpet Trumpet II)
7. Nightingale / December Song
8. Dragon’s Lair

While his fellow songwriter in Wolf Parade Dan Boeckner has cranked out two albums as Handsome Furs, Spencer Krug has been all over the place, cutting two records as a member of Swan Lake, and another two as Sunset Rubdown. The third album by Sunset Rubdown, Dragonslayer, is perhaps the most anticipated record from the Wolf Parade set since their full-length debut, as Krug's side project has blossomed into a dominante force. Dragonslayer contains the sprawling, disjointed Bowie jams that Krug brought to Wolf Parade, backed by a four-piece band sounding more assured in their roles.

1 comment: