Saturday, May 9, 2009

We Were Promised Jetpacks - These Four Walls

01. Its Thunder And Its Lightning
02. Ships With Holes Will Sink
03. Roll Up Your Sleeves
04. Conductor
05. A Half Built House
06. This Is My House, This Is My Home
07. Quiet Little Voices
08. Moving Clocks Run Slow
09. Short Bursts
10. Keeping Warm
11. An Almighty Thud

Add the Glaswegian four-piece We Were Promised Jetpacks (wicked band name by the way) to the current craze for the thick Scottish brogue (see The Twilight Sad, Frightened Rabbit, Glasvegas). Jetpacks formed in Edinburgh in 2003, where they won over the ears of their classmates at a high school battle of the bands competition. Their sound recalls some of the cacophony of Mogwai but doesnt utilize too many fancyguitar effects or song structures. The pummeling thrum of The Twilight Sad or the wistful yearning of Frightened Rabbit is brought to mind again on debut These Four Walls. The quartet is now creating torrential sheets of rock for FatCat Records. Before even releasing a single, Jetpacks received some buzz from several radio stations after a three-track demo was disseminated. Adam Thompson (guitar/vocals) is the lead songwriter, and Michael Palmer (guitar), Sean Smith (bass), and Darren Lackie (drums) fill the rest of the group.

1 comment:


    thanks to Blast40185