Monday, September 5, 2011

Laura Marling - A Creature I Don't Know

01. The Muse
02. I Was Just A Card
03. Don’t Ask Me Why
04. Salinas
05. The Beast
06. Night After Night
07. My Friends
08. Rest In the Bed
09. Sophia
10. All My Rage

Laura Marling proved that her startling debut, Alas I Cannot Swim, was not just a precocious one-off when she followed it with last year's I Speak Because I Can. Both were nominated for the Mercury prize. Now 21, she's about to put out a third album that will confirm she's the sort of artist who only gets better with age. The album has Marling at her warmest and most playful yet, affecting a debonair, half-spoken style over the jazzy piano of "The Muse" or pulling off a mid-song switch to country hoedown on single "Sophia". Not a feat for the faint-hearted, but that's never been a charge you could level at Marling. This could just be a Mercury nomination hat-trick in the making.

She says: "The songs I was writing were a lot more rhythmic and a bit louder. [The material] needed a band feel and I've got a phenomenal drummer who shares my love of punk."

1 comment: